fbpx
ENGLISH VERSION
,

South Africa - Football: 2021-2022 season schedule unveiled

South Africa - Football: 2021-2022 season schedule unveiled

South Africa has set a date for the launch of the 2021-2022 season. The officials have already designed the calendar for the 2021-2022 season.

An epitome of professionalism on the continent. SAFA has already set the machine rolling for the next football season. The competitions are officially unveiled on Monday 2 August. The DStv Premiership and GladAfrica Championship fixtures for the 2021-22 season will, however, see short breaks to accommodate the FIFA and CAF calendars.

Mamelodi Sundowns and AmaZulu FC, the two sides that occupied the top two spots in the previous season, will kick-off proceedings in the DStv Premiership at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Friday, 20 August 2021.

The campaign is expected to observe a complete break on Friday 24 December, before restarting on Saturday 5 February 2022, with the round of 16 of the Nedbank Cup.

The round of 16 of the Nedbank Cup will be played on Tuesday 8 and Saturday 16 March 2022. The quarter-finals will be played on Saturday 9 April 2022. The semi-finals will be played on Saturday 30 April 2022. The final of the competition will be played on Saturday 28 May 2022.

The Premier League is scheduled to finish on Saturday 21 May 2022. The play-offs for promotion and relegation will take place from Sunday 29 May to Wednesday 15 June 2022. The organizers have also taken into consideration possible spikes in Covid 19 numbers and will adapt the competition to the wavelength of the global health crisis.

Both Sundowns and Amazulu will be engaged in the CAF Champions League competition for next season.

 

SNA in Cameroon

 

Match Day 1
Friday 20 August

Mamelodi Sundowns vs AmaZulu

Saturday 21 August
Orlando Pirates vs Stellenbosch FC

Sekhukhune United vs Chippa United

Golen Arrows vs Maritzburg United

Baroka FC vs Marumo Gallants

Cape Town City vs SuperSport United

Sunday 22nd August
Swallows FC vs Bloemfontein Celtic

TS Galaxy vs Kaizer Chiefs

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
SPORTNEWSAFRICA,
THE REFERENCE FOR SPORT IN AFRICA
ALL SPORTS
AFRICAN SPORTSMEN AND WOMEN
AFRICAN CLUBS
MAJOR COMPETITIONS
THE NATIONAL SELECTIONS
FOLLOW US ON :
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram