The controversy surrounding the end of the match between Tunisia and Mali is still going on after referee Janny Sikazwe blew his whistle before the end of regulation time. If for the time being no official communication has taken place on the side of CAF, the versions around the causes of this premature stop of the match vary. One of them is becoming more and more widespread and tends to be a reading error on the part of the Zambian official.
In a video clip, Janny Sikazwe turns to his fourth referee and indicates that there are five minutes left to play, while the clock on the television screens indicates the 80th minute. He would think at this point that the time limit had already expired. Hence his first final whistle five minutes later, in the 85th minute. When play resumed, the Zambian thought he was in the 90th minute and let the 5 minutes that he thought were extra time play out. But it was still not enough.
L'arbitre s'est trompé avec son chrono, déjà à la 80ieme minute, il annonce le temps additionnel.#CAN2022 #CAN2021 #TUNMLI #TunisieMali #TeamMali #TeamTunisia @ndione_ada #Caf @BNFAYE pic.twitter.com/rWi4IB8UeH
— Mbaye 🇸🇳🇸🇳🇸🇳 (@tmbayebabacar) January 12, 2022