18H00 Al Ahly SC - Misr Lel Makkasa

Afcon 2021: Augustine Eguavoen names Nigeria final 28-man squad

Les Super Eagles du Nigeria
Nigeria names final afcon squad

Coach Augustine Eguavoen has unveiled his final 28-man Nigeria squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations with  the additions like Victor Osimhen, Odion Ighalo and captain Ahmed Musa.

Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi alongside teammate and striker Kelechi Iheanacho, as well as Watford duo of William Troost Ekong and Emmanuel Dennis plus Villarreal star Samuel Chukwueze made the cut.

Surprise inclusions are Almeria's Sadiq Umar, Union Berlin's Taiwo Awoniyi and SD Huesca's Kelechi Nwakali, as well as Enyimba goalkeeper John Noble was the only addition from the Nigerian league.

Genk's Paul Onuachu, West Brom's Semi Ajayi, Bordeaux's Samuel Kalu, Venezia's Tyrone Ebuehi, Harmmarby's Akinwunmi Amoo, Rangers Calvin Bassey and Kelvin Apoguma were among the notable omissions.

The Super Eagles will be eyeing their fourth African title on their 19th appearance at the biennial continental showpiece since first outing in Ghana 1963 as they secured bronze in their last outing at the 2019 edition in Egypt.

The three-time African champions are pitted in Group D alongside Egypt, Guinea Bissau and Sudan and they will commence their campaign against the Pharaohs on January 11 at the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua.

Before then, the invited players are expected to converge for pre-tournament camping on 29 December 2021 in Abuja, with the UK based stars joining the rest of the team's fold in Nigeria's federal capital on 3 January 2022.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Troost-Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)


SNA tells you more!

No recommendation

🇸🇳 L’ancien du Casa Sport Nicolas Jackson (21 ans) a marqué le premier but de Villarreal lors du déplacement du sous-marin jaune sur le terrain de Valladolid à l’occasion de la première journée de Liga https://sportnewsafrica.com/breve/le-senegalais-nicolas-jackson-inscrit-son-premier-but-en-liga/

🤯 Qui l’aurait crû ? Sans club depuis la fin de son contrat à Villarreal, Serge Aurier devrait signer dans un gros club espagnol : l’Atletico Madrid 🔴⚪️ https://sportnewsafrica.com/breve/latletico-madrid-et-serge-aurier-tout-proche-de-trouver-un-accord/

Ademola Lookman a marqué dès son premier match en Italie. De bon augure pour la suite 🇳🇬 https://sportnewsafrica.com/breve/atalanta-premier-match-et-premier-but-pour-ademola-lookman/

🇲🇦 Fouzi Lekjaa admet à demi-mot que ce sont les relations tendues entre Vahid Halilhodzic et les stars comme Hakim Ziyech que la Fédération marocaine a décidé de se séparer de son sélectionneur à trois mois du Mondial 2022


Load More...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram