, ,

Ballon d’Or 2022 as it happened during award night

Ballon d’Or 2022 as it happened during award night

Not surprisingly, Karim Benzema was awarded the Ballon d'Or 2022 after his crazy season that saw him win a new Champions League with Real Madrid. But the French international is not the only winner of the evening. Discover all the winners of the other distinctions of this 66th edition.

Unsurprisingly, all eyes were on Karim Benzema during this Ballon d'Or ceremony that took place at the Théâtre du Châtelet. The Real Madrid striker has, without real surprise, won the Ballon d'Or 2022 after his crazy season with Real Madrid during which he won, among other things, a new La Liga and the Champions League.

Another highly anticipated award, the Women's Ballon d'Or, once again went to Alexia Putellas. The FC Barcelona striker retained the crown she won last season thanks to her resounding performances at club level. The Spaniard is ahead of England's Beth Mead, who won the Women's Euro.

Spain is the big winner

In the category of young people under 21, Gavi won the Kopa trophy and thus succeeds his teammate at Barcelona, Pedri. The Catalan midfielder was favored by the jury of 32 former winners of the Ballon d'Or, ahead of Edouardo Camavinga (2nd), Jamal Musiala (3rd) Jude Bellingham (4th) and Nuno Mendes (5th).

If he finished on the podium of the Ballon d'Or, Sadio Mané did not leave empty-handed. The Senegalese international was awarded the first ever Sócrates Prize, which rewards a player for his commitment off the field to important causes, especially humanitarian and associative projects. The 2022 African champion has built a health structure and a school in his village of Bambaly.

Not surprisingly, Robert Lewandowski won the Gerd Müller Trophy. While still playing for Bayern Munich, the Polish striker broke the record of 41 goals in the Bundesliga in one season held by the former German international. A reward that sounds like a handover.

Manchester City surprise

The Spanish clubs' residents were honored during the evening as Thibault Courtois won an award. The Real Madrid goalkeeper won the Yachin Trophy for the best goalkeeper of the season. The Belgian was one of the main architects of Real Madrid's victory in the knockout phase of the Champions League. He was ahead of Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Ederson (Manchester City), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea) and Mike Maignan (AC Milan).

While Real Madrid was expected to be crowned club of the year, the distinction fell into the lap of Manchester City. Dominant in the Premier League with a new title of English champion, the Mancunians have however fallen in the Champions League against Real Madrid. But the voters decided otherwise.

The awards of the Ballon d'Or ceremony 2022

Ballon d’Or: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Kopa Trophy (best player under 21): Gavi (FC Barcelona)
Yachine Trophy (best goalkeeper) : Thibault Courtois (Real Madrid)
Gerd Müller Trophy (best goalscorer) : Robert Lewandowski (FC Barcelona)
Sócrates Award (commitment to social projects): Sadio Mané (Bayern Munich)
Club of the Year Award: Manchester City

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram