, ,

Club World Cup: New format in 2025 with 4 African teams

Wydad Casablanca
Club World Cup: New format in 2025 with 4 African teams

FIFA has unveiled the new format for the Club World Cup, the first edition of which will be held in the USA in 2025. From now on, a tournament will be held every four years with 32 teams, starting in 2025. And for the first edition, to be held from June 15 to July 13 2025, the first participating teams have been unveiled by the governing body. 12 European teams will be joined by 4 African nations, 4 Asians, 4 North Americans, 6 South Americans and Auckland City (New Zealand), which will have the Oceania ticket. One place is also reserved for a club from the host country.

The teams will be divided into eight groups of four.The top two teams in each group will qualify for the knockout phase.

Qualified teams

Africa - 4 teams : Al Ahly SC (EGY); Wydad AC (MAR); the other 2 to be confirmed ;

Asia - 4 teams : Al Hilal SFC (KSA); Urawa Red Diamonds (JPN): the other 2 teams to be confirmed;

Europe - 12 teams : Chelsea FC (ENG); Real Madrid CF (ESP); Manchester City FC (ENG); FC Bayern Munich (Germany); Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA); FC Internazionale (ITA); FC Porto (POR); SL Benfica (POR); 3 other teams to be confirmed ;

North, Central America and Caribbean - 4 teams : CF Monterrey (MEX); Seattle Sounders FC (USA); Club León (MEX); one final place still to be filled;

OCEANIA - 1 team: Auckland City FC (NZL)

SOUTH AMERICA - 6 teams: SE Palmeiras (BRA); CR Flamengo (BRA); Fluminense FC (BRA), 3 teams to be confirmed;

The last place is allocated to a club from the host country.

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram