Netball World Cup 2023: Uganda to face reigning champions New Zealand

Netball World Cup 2023: Uganda to face reigning champions New Zealand

Uganda She Cranes have been pooled alongside reigning champions New Zealand in the Netball World Cup 2023.

The Netball World Cup 2023 which will bring together 16 teams will take place July 28th to August 6th in Cape Town, South Africa.

In the draw conducted on December 30th by the World Netball, Uganda have been placed in Pool D that has New Zealand, Trinidad & Tobago and Singapore.

New Zealand lifted the Netball World Cup 2019 held in Liverpool, England and also won bronze in the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

Peace Proscovia, the She Cranes captain who plays professional Netball in England says although the group is tough, they have what it takes to put up a good show. “We have to continue working hard because we must prove a point in this World Cup,” added the captain.

Uganda ranked seventh in the Netball World ranking will be making their fourth appearance in the World Cup after the previous appearances in 1979, 2015 and 2019.

Last month the She Cranes defeated top ranked team Australia 32-30 in the Netball Fast Five Series held in New Zealand.

Zimbabwe have been placed alongside the world’s top ranked team Australia who also won the 2022 Commonwealth Games. The other teams in Pool A include; Tonga and Fuji.

South Africa, the best ranked team in Africa and placed fifth in the world ranking, are placed in Pool C alongside Jamaica, Wales and Sri Lanka.

Pool A: Australia, Tonga, Zimbabwe, Juji

Pool B: England, Malawi, Scotland, Barbados

Pool C: Jamaica, South Africa, Wales, Sri Lanka

Pool D: New Zealand, Uganda, Trinidad & Tobago, Singapore

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram