Uganda Cranes head coach summons Dundee United’s Anaku for 2023 AFCON qualifiers

Uganda Cranes head coach summons Dundee United’s Anaku for 2023 AFCON qualifiers

Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has summoned Scottish based professional Happy Sadat Anaku ahead of the 2023 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers.

Sredojevic announced his 30-man provisional squad on Thursday ahead of the matches to be played between March 20-28th.

Uganda Cranes will host Tanzania on March 24th in a Group F match to be played at the Suez Canal Authority Stadium in Egypt, while the return leg takes place March 28th at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

Sredojevic has invited Anaku who joined Scottish Premiership side Dundee United last August from Uganda Premier League side KCCA FC.

The coach has also invited Egyptian based players Gavin Kizito, Richard Basangwa and Joseph Ochaya. Sredojevic also recalled Turkish based midfielder Farouk Miya and South African based goalkeeper Hamal Salim Magoola.

The coach made it clear that the locally based players summoned will enter camp on March 15th and later play a regional tour game against Kitara region next week before the foreign based players start arriving.

Uganda Cranes kick started their campaign with a 2-0 defeat away to Algeria, and settled for a 1-1 draw against Niger in a match played at the St. Marys Stadium, Kitende in Uganda.

The Desert Fennecs of Algeria lead the group with 6 points, while Niger have 2 points. Uganda Cranes and the Taifa Stars of Tanzania last featured in the 2019 AFCON that took place in Egypt.


Goalkeepers: Jamal Salim Magoola (Richards Bay FC), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Charles Lukwago (St. George FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi FC)

Gavin Kizito (Al Attihad SC), Penz James Begisa (URA FC), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (CD Leganes), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA FC), Timothy Awany (SC Ironi Ashdod), Halidi Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica), Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa), Rogers Torach)

Midfielders: Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Khalid Aucho (Young Africans SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Austin FC), Steven Sserwadda (New York Red Bull II), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Farouk Miya (Caykur Rizerspor)

Forwards: Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil SC), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makawdoon Al Arab SC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Steven Mukwala (Asante Kotoko), Fahad Bayo (MFK Yyskov), Richard Basangwa (Wadi Degla SC), Happy Sadat Anaku (Dundee United FC), Rogers Mugisha (UPDF FC)

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram