Somalia elects new Football Federation President Abdi Mohamed

Somalia elects new Football Federation President Abdi Mohamed

The Somali Football Federation (SFF) General Assembly held at Elite Hotel in Mogadishu has on Wednesday February 22, elected Ali Abdi Mohamed as the new President.

The Assembly was presided over by the SFF General Secretary Yusuf Mohudin Ahmed before handing over to the Electoral Committee.

Abdi Mohamed who was unopposed was declared President by the Electoral Committee, Isak Abdullahi Hassan after 34 delegates all voted yes to the new executive Committee that will serve for four years. Out of the 46 delegates 34 attended and 12 did not show up for the Assembly.

The elections had been stopped twice in November last year and February 1st, 2023 by the government. But after several meetings led by the Prime Minister of Somalia, the Somali Football Federation (SFF) was given a go ahead to hold the General Assembly today.

Abdi Mohamed, a former Vice President of the Federation who has been serving as the acting President thanked voters for having trust in him to lead football in the country. “I thank the football Congress who have chosen us to lead the Football Federation for the next four years. The football community always needs to be together if we are to take football to a better level in Somalia,” added Abdi Mohamed.

He made it clear that because of some of the challenges Somalia has had in the past, football will bring people together. I call upon everyone to be together. We are ready to work with everyone for the betterment of football in Somalia,” he added.

He made it clear that it is now time to work and make sure football in Somalia keeps growing. “Last year on October 15th was a historical day when our U-17 team lifted the CECAFA title and qualified for the first time for the U-17 AFCON,” noted the newly elected SFF President.

The new Executive Committee of the Somali Football Federation: Ali Abdi Mohamed (President), Ahmed Farah Takal (1st Vice President, Abdirashid Abdulle Mohamed (2nd Vice President), Yusuf Hussein Mumin (3rd Vice President).

Committee Members: Yaxye Mohamed Abukar, Fahmo Kulle Ali (Women representative), Omar Mohamud Nor, Abukar Islow Hassan, Mohamed Ali Isse, Bashir Salad Bare, Abdikani Abdullahi Abow

SNA tells you more!

No recommendation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram